4 Comments

Finders, Keepers?

Guys, I came across this question the other day… “While walking on the beach you stumble on a valuable object buried in the sand — say, a piece of jewelry or an envelope full of cash. What do you do with it? Under what circumstances would you keep it?”

Would you??

Would you??

First of all, I don’t just walk around picking stuff from the ground. I’d probably be enjoying the blue waters, sun, breeze, drinking my mojito and flaunting my new bikini around… ^_^ Nevertheless, maybe I noticed the item from a short distance away. In my head, I’d be wondering what it is. Is it a dead bird? Is it notebook? Oh it’s an envelope! Is it a shiny rope? Is it a small belt? Oh it’s a gold necklace!!

Uumh, saw what? Ain't nobody got time for dat.. ^_^

Uumh, saw what? Ain’t nobody got time for dat.. ^_^

So I would stop, look around, to confirm if somebody appears to have dropped it. If I see a lady with an open handbag, I’d call them and ask if they dropped something… Now in the situation where there is no one around, I’d pick it up. Yes, my curiosity wouldn’t let me walk on by. I mean what if I found important documents with a phone number of the owner? What if I found a recipe to the perfect Italian cuisine? What if I found the map to a chest of treasure? Just saying…

Oh Look! A treasure map!

Oh Look! A treasure map!

So, I look inside the envelope and discover it’s filled with cash… umh. Ok. To be honest, I’ll first count it. It’s fifty thousand Kenya shillings! (Lol. Yeah right, like somebody in this times would just walk around the beach with such money. Or be dumb enough to drop it and not check up on it, like in every ten minutes-at least that’s what I would do) Anyways, whether it’s fifty thousand shillings or five thousand shillings, I can’t really take it to the police. One, we all know what will happen to it. It will go into their pockets! Two, I’m at the beach; no I will not walk or drive kilometers away to look for a police station. Three, with the way our local investigations are done, and all the CSI, NCIS, Without A Trace, Law & Order, Sherlock, Unforgettable, Rizzoli & Isles, The Mentalist and Hawaii 5-0 I’ve watched, I’ll probably solve the ‘Lost and found’ case faster than they would. So that’s not an option.

There are 5 possible outcomes if this happens to me now-

1. If it’s less than two thousand shillings: I’ll run to the nearest supermarket and buy lotsa candy and chocolate! For me. Eat it, share it, and forget about it, or maybe blog about it. Lol

I love Candy!! My teeth can take it.. B-)

I love Candy!! My teeth can take it.. B-)

2. If it’s more than two thousand shillings but less than five thousand shillings: I’ll buy candy, lotsa airtime, and lotsa internet bundles for my phone. Hey, you can’t blame me. Do you know how much a bundle-gobbler Instagram is?? Plus I read on-line books and download some… Then I’ll call all my friends and chat away.

3. If it’s more than five thousand shillings and less than ten thousand shillings: I’ll buy those pair of shoes I have been fantasizing about!! Yeah, it’s another fetish of mine. Hash-tag team shoes. Lol

Yes! I will marry you! *screams*

Yes! I will marry you! *screams*

4. If it’s more than twenty thousand shillings but less than fifty thousand shillings: I’ll move out from home (finally!) and buy myself a bed, a high-quality mattress among other house essentials I can get.

5. If it’s more than fifty thousand shillings: I’ll be really worried. I’d like panic, pray to God to ask for assistance, wonder if I’m being punk’d… And finally I’ll give ten percent to the poor or street children, and then put the rest in the bank. Go home, open my note book, then write a budget on how I can spend it. Then spend it. Of course I’ll put some to my savings account. Hopefully.

Imma be at home like...

Imma be at home like…

P.S: I gotta have a new, better $ pretty mobile phone in my budget.
P.P.S: Sorry I meant to use ‘&’
^_^
P.P.P.S: If I had found a gold necklace or ring, I would probably have left it there, hoping the person who dropped it will be back to look for it. What if it was her engagement ring? Or her dead great-grandmother’s jewellery?? Plus I don’t like sharing jewellery… -_-
P.P.P.P.S: Don’t hesitate to leave a comment on what YOU would have done!! 🙂

4 comments on “Finders, Keepers?

  1. errm, when I find money, i drink it that same weekend. Easy come easy go. We can discuss integrity later when i’m sober. 😀

  2. Haha coming from you, I am not surprised. I happen to know your love for the bottle 😉

  3. Oh don’t mind me, I’m just passing through 😀

Leave a Reply

