4 Comments

The Little things in life…

My alarm went off at 6.00 am! And after pressing the snooze button several times, I got out of bed 30 minutes later. After performing my prayers, I pulled back the window curtains and opened the windows. While at it, it downed on me that it’s been almost 3 weeks since I was situated in to my new location. (Ok I’m visiting my cousin, but I didn’t wanna pass up the chance of sounding mysterious ^_^). Point is, days rush by so fast nowadays, you wake up every morning and before you know it, the sun is setting, you are exhausted and you just want to sleep. Days have become short; so much to do so little time. I want to own so many things, I want to go to so many places, I want to do so many things… Life can be frustrating sometimes, especially when things don’t go your way. There is a risk of getting depressed and being engulfed with the feeling of hopelessness which can be destructive: emotionally and psychologically. This was me 2 days ago.

sad when things don't seem to go my way...

sad when things don’t seem to go my way…

I got so engrossed in getting the ‘big plans’ into action and when some failed, they would affect my entire mood and I’ll just go into lock-down. Nonetheless, when I talked to one of my best friends that afternoon I started feeling better. Calm. That’s when I realized sometimes the little things and the little opportunities that fly at us every day can have the biggest impact. Robert Brault says, “Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big thing”. He couldn’t have been any truer! You may not see it now, but the little things we tend to ignore today may save you in some way in the future. Some small things when nurtured turn into the biggest and most remarkable things.

So I have decided. I will not let the worlds disappointments get me down. I will enjoy every good thing in life that comes my way, no matter how little. I have realized that being sad and letting things get to me, rob me the opportunity to see and enjoy the other good things life has to offer. The other day I read somewhere that “Simple pleasures throughout the day can be far more gratifying that one amazing weekend. When you connect the dots between all these little joys, life seems fuller and more satisfying”. I found truth and liberation in the words. I found hope and some of the happiness I had lost.
simple pleasures

I plan to take pleasure in the little, and some not so little, things in life! The life I’m LIVING. I will appreciate every good thing, and not so good things. My best buddy Warren says, “Defeat has to be accepted, if we are ever to learn from it.” One, he’s going to be super excited that I have started quoting him…on second thought, I don’t think stroking his ego will do any good to mankind… But secondly, gowsh he’s becoming so wise (*clears throat* mature) of late! Thirdly, he is right!

So let’s make a toast; here’s to enjoying the ‘little’ things in life! This is me realizing that no matter what life throws my way, I still have hope, and lotsa faith for my (no-doubt super-amazing) future! This is me appreciating how blessed I am to possess the skills and abilities I do. How when I get bored I take out my drawing book and draw (I possess some killer drawing skills people)…how I still remember my salsa moves and enjoy dancing, how I can put my thoughts into words (did I tell you guys I want to write a book?), how I can read music and can still play the piano piece I did for my KCSE! Lol. Lovely tune. How I don’t find it hard to make friends. This is me going to enjoy my favorite snacks and feel good about it! Yes, I’m going to chomp down that chocolate bar and devour the hell out of that ice-cream! I will definitely watch that movie I like, and follow up that series I enjoy! Uumh, BTW when are the next episodes of Scandal being released? I need me some Olivia Pope! And have you all noticed how Theo James is becoming hotter and hotter of late! I digress…

Huh? What calories??

Huh? What calories??

Where was I, yes, I am lucky to have Warren in my life. He has become one of the most important people in it, and of course my mentor Carol! Amazing Lady! These two are the voice of reason in my life , they are the voice of encouragement, he knows what to say when I’m feeling down, they make me see what I am and what I can do, he makes me believe in myself some more, she is a great role model…and Warren is great company! He gives good talk 😉 I learn a lot of what’s going on in the world from him. Dude watches CNN and reads Business Daily…daily!

I am going to enjoy that meal I cooked! Of course I’m a good cook. I will read as many novels as my heart desires; people should know what good sleep does to you… I love caffé mocha (my new fetish)! I love children, and their adorable little smiles and their innocent souls… I will appreciate that smile from a stranger. I will enjoy looking at that beautiful sunrise and sunset! Aaaahhh the thought of that hot long shower gives me goosebumps, I love them! I also love those long tight hugs. I love my family, that nice text, the smell of my perfume, a yummy smoothie, those long phone calls from the people you fancy, flowers, my blog, and my Instagram!

*in Gollum's voice* Precious...my precious...

*stares at my mocha and speaks in Gollum’s voice* Precious…my precious…

I saved the best for last, I so love my best girlfriends! They are the best! Shout out to Rhodah, Julie, Asmahan, Mary, Peris, Benta, Ari! You girls rock!
“Maybe our girlfriends are our soulmates and guys are just people to have fun with” ~ Candace Bushell 😉

My Gangsta look.. *got bitches n' all*  ... Sorry Asmahan, you're not a bitch ^_^

My Gangsta look.. *got bitches n’ all*

Sorry Asmahan, you’re not a bitch ^_^

As you can see, I have a lot to be happy about. God Loves Me. ^_^

4 comments on “The Little things in life…

  1. love you too sweetness…

  2. Dang! cant believe am tearing up, #Happytears. This is an amazing piece Zelly. Love you to bits cupie.
    “So let’s make a toast; here’s to enjoying the
    ‘little’ things in life! This is me realizing that
    no matter what life throws my way, I still
    have hope, and lotsa faith for my (no-doubt
    super-amazing) future! ”

    P.S Your book would be amesome, get working on it soonest.

Leave a Reply

