2 Comments

LIFE IS EASY..

There seems to be some perverse human characteristic that likes to make easy things difficult. Well, the other day I came across this Chinese proverb that goes like; “Never do anything standing that you can do sitting, or anything sitting that you can do lying down.” Now I know some of you are thinking, lazy ass.. But that’s not what I’m trying to imply. I admit I have my moments. I mean who doesn’t. Some days I just wanna goof off in the house all day, singing along to Bruno Mars’ Lazy song… though I never understand how he wouldn’t feel like doing anything, then go ahead and dance around with ‘monkeys’, play in his pants and show the world his ass…smh. Oh well, what I was saying earlier is, Life is Easy, Let’s not make it hard.

So we were in the school lab doing some chemistry experiment the other day. My group, four boys and two girls, was doing okay until we got to this point, “..treat Y and Z as you treated X, by repeating step 1 and 3..” The argument that arose from that statement was, should step 2 be skipped or was it a misprint, and that it should have been “step 1 to 3” instead. The four boys started to strongly argue about it, referring ‘intellectually’ to the previous experiments, scientific facts and the logic behind it. And need I say, they were at it for around twenty minutes. The other lady, washing up the test tubes to be used, just stared on. I don’t know what was going on in her head but there I was listening to them, wondering why in God’s name we were wasting precious time, which would delay our results and keep us in the lab longer. And this had nothing to do with the fact that I had left a nice movie halfway and was to go finish it up after the lab session! I took the lab procedures booklet, marched to the tiny room at the back corner of the lab and asked the two lab technicians to clarify the hubbub. Three minutes later, I came back with the news. All three steps should be carried out. And we all went on with the experiment.

Now I know there’s this thing about men choosing to drive round the whole county when lost rather than simply asking for the directions, but really?? I, have a simple philosophy in life. Fill what’s empty, Empty what’s full. Scratch where it itches, Choose what’s good. In other words, if you want something, ask for it. If you want money, work for it. If you are hungry, get food. If you wanna pass your exam, revise for it. You want a new house, Save! If the sun is too hot, get stunners; and if you want to go to the prom, get a date! Simple!

Wouldn’t it be way easier to just get up, pick the remote control and change the tv channel, instead of stretching your body to inelastic limits, trying to tip the remote control on the table using a pen held between your toes?? Wouldn’t it be easier to get a blender rather than crush and sieve a whole bucket of fruits to make fresh juice, every week? And is it a lot easier to simply fulfill a promise you made and save yourself the trouble of coming up with excuses for breaking it and possibly end up being labeled untrustworthy? A liar?

To me, life is like a blanket too short. You pull it up and your toes rebel, you yank it down and shivers meander about your shoulders, but cheerful folks manage to draw their knees up and pass a very comfortable night. Life is Unfair? Maybe, Maybe not. But while you are complaining about it, trying to change the unchangeables and stressing yourself up, beating yourself to a pulp, I choose to live life happy. It’s easier.

Life, is easier than you think. All that is necessary is to accept the impossible, do without the indispensable, and bear the intolerable. So next time you want to cook ugali, buy the maize flour. It’s way easier than getting maize grains, and taking it to the maize mill for grinding. Figuratively speaking! You’ll save yourself both time and energy.

Cheers! =)

P.s: The adage I chose to use above has very little relation to the fact that I have some Luhya blood in me.
As you are.

2 comments on “LIFE IS EASY..

  1. Haha, should I say that I’ve literally been laughing at myself after some hilarious lines above here :-D. It’s the right message to many of us who waste no time in making simple things look like hell to all around them but I’ll also try not to complicate things at times. Keep up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

